Cricket is Craze

The time is true for BPL redemption

By Kritika Naidu and Prakash Govindasreenivasan

Lower than a fortnight in the past, the Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka witnessed the rarest of uncommon sights. A 19-yr-previous quick bowler, steaming in on the prime of his rhythm, had 9 fielders behind the stumps. Within the current previous, Bangladesh have had a number of gamers well worth the fanfare however hardly a group of 11 of them who might significantly thrill. There have been moments – just like the 2005 ODI win over Australia – that got here ever-so-not often that feelings of the followers again residence typically wavered violently between elation and frustration. By no means earlier than have been they on the receiving finish of sustained euphoria.

When Mustafizur bowled with a slip cordon that one typically related to the period of the abrasive Steve Waugh, Taurai Muzarabani, Zimbabwe’s No. eleven, was merely current on the crease to delay the inevitable collection defeat. When it will definitely got here, it was Bangladesh’s fifth ODI collection victory at residence, together with ‘superior’ oppositions like Pakistan, India and South Africa. The Bangladesh cricket staff has lastly managed the sort of profitable stint that the followers have dreamt of for a very long time. If the air in Dhaka, and in Chittagong, is spiked with optimism in the meanwhile, it might not be with out purpose. The stage is thus set, as there may be no higher time for the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) to return to the reckoning and shrug off its infamous previous.

The primary two seasons of the event – in 2012 and 2013 – have been marred by mismanagement and corruption, shockingly from the workforce house owners. After a yr’s break in 2014, BPL returns with a clean slate and a renewed hope of resurrecting the T20 league. The format of six groups enjoying one another twice has not been modified however the groups – itself – are all model new.

A lot to the delight of the viewing public, the event could have choicest of worldwide stalwarts this season. From Chris Gayle and Shahid Afridi to Kumar Sangakkara and Andre Russell – a number of the massive-identify gamers – have all signed as much as be a part of the upcoming season. Just like the Indian Premier League – the event it goals to duplicate when it comes to success and high quality – loads of focus may even be on younger Bangladesh expertise, specifically at a time when the nationwide staff is hovering to new heights with a younger and energetic bunch of boys.

So far as aspirations of matching the Indian league goes, the third version of BPL is predicted to kick-begin with comparable – and eccentric – ranges of pizzazz, with Bollywood stars like Hrithik Roshan, Jacqueline Fernandes, singer KK, in addition to Chittagong-based mostly musician Ayub Bachchu set to get the ball rolling within the opening ceremony on November 20 (Friday). After all of the fanfare settles, the event will get underneath means on November 22 (Sunday) in Dhaka and can be performed throughout three phases. Rangpur Riders will tackle the Chittagong Vikings within the event opener on Sunday and as many as 12 matches can be performed within the first part (until November 27). The motion then shifts to Chittagong, the place seven video games shall be performed throughout 5 days (November 30 to December three). The groups head again to Dhaka for the ultimate part, from December 6. The group-stage fixtures finish on December 10 after which an IPL-type qualifier and eliminator will probably be performed. The ultimate of the event is on December 15.

Again in 2007, Indian followers had simply recovered from the lows of the 2007 World Cup exit and embraced the unbridled pleasure of the World T20 triumph beneath MS Dhoni. The IPL arrived proper after this victory and it went a great distance in getting the plenty to take a particular liking for the event. BPL might not have had the right begin in 2012, however their return coinciding with the nationwide aspect’s continued success comes as an encouragement for the organisers and the buyers alike. Can they avoid the widespread pessimistic outlook in the direction of a T20 league and placed on a great present? Can the typical native fan discover new heroes for himself? Fascinating occasions forward, when you’re a Bangladesh cricket aficionado.

Venues: Sher-e-Bangla stadium, Dhaka and Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong


Dhaka Dynamites:

Native gamers: Nasir Hossain, Md Mustafizur Rahman, Mosharraf Hossain Rubel, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Shamsur Rahman, Md Saikat Ali, Farhad Reza, Nabil Samad, Md Abul Hasan Raju, Irfan Shukkur

Abroad gamers: Kumar Sangakkara (SL) (Capt, wk), Sohail Khan (Pak), Shahzaib Hasan (Pak), Nasir Jamshed (Pak), Yasir Shah (Pak), Mohammad Irfan (Pak), David Mallan (Eng), Ryan ten Doeschate (Neth)

Coach: Mickey Arthur

Chittagong Vikings:

Native gamers: Tamim Iqbal (Capt), Nafees Iqbal, Anamul Haque Bijoy (wk), Taskin Ahmed, Robiul Islam, Ziaur Rahman, Md Elias Sunny, Naeem Islam, Enamul Haque (Jr.), Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Md Shafiul Islam, Asif Ahmed Ratul

Abroad Gamers: Jeevan Mendis (SL), Chamara Kapugedera (SL), Robin Petersen (SA), Elton Chigumbura (Zim), Mohammad Amir (Pak), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Umar Akmal (Pak), Kamran Akmal (Pak)

Coach: Aaqib Javed

Barisal Bulls:

Native gamers: Mahmudullah Riyad (Capt), Shabbir Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Shohag Gazi, Taijul Islam, Shahriar Nafees, Mehedi Maruf, Nadif Chowdhury, Rony Talukder, Mohammad Sharifullah, Sajedul Islam

Abroad Gamers: Chris Gayle (WI), Brendan Taylor (wk) (Zim), Kevin Cooper (WI), Evin Lewis (WI), Seekkuge Prasanna (SL), Mohammad Sami (Pak), Imad Wasim (Pak)

Coach: Graham Xavier Ford

Rangpur Riders:

Native Gamers: Shakib Al Hasan (Capt), Soumya Sarker, Arafat Sunny, Md Mithun (wk), Muktar Ali, Saklain Sojib, Jahurul Islam, Jubair Hossain, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Md Murad Khan, Rasel Al Mamun, Marshal Aiyub, Rokibul Islam

Abroad gamers: Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Thisara Perera (SL), Sachitra Senanayake (SL), Darren Sammy (WI), Lendl Simmons (WI), Mohammad Nabi (Afg), Wahab Riaz (Pak), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pak)

Coach: Shane Jurgensen

Sylhet Superstars:

Native Gamers: Mushfiqur Rahim (Capt, wk), Rubel Hossain, Mominul Haque, Abdur Razzak, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan (wk), Mohammad Shahid, Najmul Hossain Apu, Junaid Siddique, Nazmul Hossain Milon, Abu Sayem Alam Chowdhury

Abroad gamers: Brad Hodge (Aus), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Dilshan Munaweera (SL), Kieron Pollard (WI), Ravi Bopara (Eng), Chris Jordan (Eng), Joshua Cobb (Eng), Shahid Afridi (Pak), Sohail Tanveer (Pak)

Coach: Sarwar Imran

Comilla Victorians:

Native gamers: Mashrafe Mortaza (Capt), Liton Kumar Das (wk), Imrul Kayes, Alok Kapali, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Sanjamul Islam, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Ariful Haque, Mahmudul Hasan Limon, Md Nayeem Islam (Jr.), Abu Haider Rony, Dhiman Ghosh (wk)

Abroad Gamers: Sunil Narine (WI), Marlon Samuels (WI), Andre Russell (WI), Krishmar Santokie (WI), Darren Stevens (Eng), Nuwan Kulasekara (SL), Lahiru Thirimanne (SL), Shoaib Malik (Pak), Ahmad Shehzad (Pak)

Coach: Mohammad Salahuddin



Recent Posts

Copyright © CricFlip 2015.All rights reserved. Frontier Theme